My Golden Ticket Redeemed


Last year, I wrote about my great-grandfather’s journey from Israel to the US and then back to Israel again. Frankly, the piece felt incomplete. I spoke of R’ Yechiel Zvi’s love and longing for our homeland – how he returned as soon as he was able to – while I was still hoping and dreaming of setting down roots in Eretz Yisrael. 

Thank G-d, a year later, I am spending Rosh HaShana in Israel as an olah chadasha. Words cannot properly describe how privileged and honored I feel. I owe much thanks to my family, whose support keeps me rooted and strong. I also owe much gratitude to my friends, both in the US and Israel, who encouraged me and led by example. 

And thank you to R’Yechiel Zvi, his daughter -my Alta Bubbie – Hinda,  her daughter – my grandmother – Sally, and my incredible parents. Thank you for keeping the deep connection to Zion alive for four generations. It’s my imperative and privilege to nourish this connection in the years to come, b’ezrat Hashem.

Shana tova.

Leave a Reply

