A Dreamer’s Perspective on Consistency

Tzav 5776

Painting by Yoram Raanan

I’m fascinated by the concept of hatmadah, consistency. I recently wrote about it for YU To-Go’s Purim edition, which is really the product of many years of thinking about the quality and how it influences our lives.

I’m a thinker, or really, a dreamer. I have a head-full of ways to make useful, meaningful contributions to the world, all of which, upon inception, seem like the reason I was put on this earth.

Okay, I’m exaggerating a little bit, but if you are a dreamer, then perhaps you experience the euphoria of a newborn dream from time-to-time as well. There’s something so exhilarating about a new idea…it gives every day the potential to be uniquely monumental. With each one, the threat of an unremarkable existence is thwarted once again. Phew!

The thing about being a dreamer is, if I’m not conscientious about taking action, dreams remain dreams.  When I look back through over old records (usually diary entries and essays from high school English class) I am reacquainted with a lot of forgotten dreams; some more developed than others, but all left behind, unfinished, unfulfilled. As I’ve gotten older, it becomes clear that not all dreams can come true for a Serial Dreamer like myself. There simply isn’t enough time. However, there is a way to make sure that certain dreams- the most precious of them all – make it.

That is the aish tamid, consistent fire.

Dreamers aren’t big on routine. I like out-of-the-box, chart-my-own-destiny kind of living. But without the consciously implemented routine actions, I would forever be the girl writing in her journal during recess while everyone else did stuff. I don’t believe one should ever stop dreaming, but those dreams should be the fuel that drives constant action and accomplishment, not accomplishments in and of themselves.

Do not underestimate the power of small, consistent action. Wishes don’t make dreams come true. Consistent, calculated daily actions do.

Leave a Reply

