Quote

I Will Not Let You Go Until You Bless Me

So, what do you do if, G-d forbid, you find yourself in the midst of crisis?…How do you survive the trauma and pain?

There’s one biblical passage which that’s deeply helpful…in which, at night, Jacob wrestles with an unknown, unnamed adversary: “Jacob was left alone, and a man wrestled with him until daybreak.” …the key phrase is when Jacob says to the stranger, “I will not let you go until you bless me.”Within every crisis lies the possibility of blessing…

Crisis forces us to make difficult but necessary decisions.  It makes us ask, “Who am I and what really matters to me?” It plunges us from the surface to the depths, where we discover strengths we didn’t know we had, and a clarity of purpose we had hitherto lacked. So you have to say to every crisis, “I will not let you go until you bless me.”

— Rabbi Jonathan Sacks, Letters to the Next Generation

If you’re ever in need of a pick-me-up, read Letter 8 in the anthology above.  It’s worth reading. and re-reading.

Leave a Reply

